French Soda

My dear friends, I have to apologize for the lack of posts on here lately!! I’m trying to get back into posting, and hopefully over the summer you will see more from me 😉

Warm weather has finally arrived, and I’m celebrating it with all the iced tea I can manage 🙂 I saw a recipe for something similar to a French Soda, and I thought, hey, I can do that with tea! Inspired by the lovely tea that I received from Hello Tea I came up with this recipe for you guys to try. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did and be sure to check out some of the other amazing teas from Hello Tea. They have a fantastic subscription service that allows you to sample tea before you purchase it and they also sell loose leaf tea on their website in case you’re not into subscriptions 😉

 

Hibiscus & Rose French Soda

chilled tea infusion (recipe below)

half a lemon

sparkling water

full fat coconut milk

Note- this recipe takes some ahead of time preparation, so check the forecast for a hot day coming up and prep for this recipe the night before!

Step one- make the tea infusion. In a medium saucepan combine 3/4 cup water, 3/4 cup sugar and two or three lemon slices (I really wanted to highlight the lemon flavour in this tea, but feel free to omit if you’d like ). Add two tablespoons dried tea. In this case, we will be using Hibiscus and Rose from Hello Tea.  Simmer over medium heat for about 20 minutes. Pour the infusion through a strainer and discard the lemon and tea pieces. Cool in a mason jar in the fridge overnight.

Step two- the next day you can assemble the soda. Fill a glass about half full with ice cubes. Add sparkling water until it covers the ice. Pour in some tea infusion until the drink turns dark pink and the glass is about 3/4 full. Top with a splash of coconut milk. Give it a whirl with a spoon and maybe add a cute straw 😉

Don’t forget the snacks! There are all kinds of picnic-friendly treats to serve with your soda.

  • triangle avocado sandwiches
  • fresh fruit
  • chopped dried fruit mixed with salty nuts
  • a baguette with olive oil and balsamic vinegar for dipping
  • simple bean salad: toss a can of beans, a can of olives, a couple of chopped tomatoes, a chopped cucumber, and half a head of cauliflower with a drizzle of olive oil and a splash of lemon juice
  • potato, pasta, or green salad
  • s’mores (with these marshmallows so that they’re vegan friendly 🙂 )
  • corn chips with hummus

I hope you enjoy many fun picnics this summer!

I want to give a big hug to the wonderful people at Hello Tea Club for partnering with me for this post 🙂 Thanks for supporting the brands that keep tea in my teacups ❤

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Hello Tea says:

    Hello Emily! Thank you very much for sharing your French Soda recipe using our tea. All of us here at hellotea.club love all the beautiful pictures you took!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. me&tea says:

      Thank you so much! I really loved the tea and enjoyed taking photos for it 🙂 😘

      Like

  2. Hannah says:

    What a beautiful spring time post! 🙂 Very refreshing and yummy!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. me&tea says:

      Thanks Hannah!! The picture taking was a lot of fun 🙂

      Like

Share your thoughts

