Strawberry Jam and Pink Flamingo

on

I found the perfect macaron bowl!

But first, this tea.

Dusky blackberry coloured. Flavour reminiscent of lemon cough drops with a sweet tang from the hibiscus. Fruity notes from the apple, carrots, and tangerine. Meet your new best tea friend, Pink Flamingo (from Davids Teas)! If you love hibiscus and tangerine as much as I do, please give this tea a try. If you’re new  to herbal teas, it’s a great starter tea- the delicate flavours blend together with a hint of sweetness and not a lick of caffeine.

The bowl was found at a big furniture store (Bombay) in a h u g e mall that I was shopping at recently. The woman at the store told me that it was a cereal bowl, but the moment I saw it, I knew that it was going to be a great macaron bowl. And it was!

These macarons are vegan (yes, really!) and gluten free. They’re made with aquafaba (chickpea juice) and almond flour. I was hoping to link the recipe here but unfortunately, a quick search of the blog that I printed the recipe from shows that she’s taken all her recipes down!! I will look around, and if I find another recipe, I will post a link to it. I ‘filled’ the macarons with homemade jam- sweet but so good! Nothing beats homemade jam 🙂 I would suggest going to a farmers market to find some, or, if you can’t get any homemade, look for a good quality jam with less sugar in it so that the flavour of the berries can really shine. I used strawberry jam but you could use raspberry, saskatoon, or blueberry.

That’s it for now. I’ve got more to show you later this week, so keep your eyes open for a cake recipe and an awesome new tea collaboration with my favourite tea company 😉 Cheers to the week, friends!

 

 

Share your thoughts

