An Apple Cake + Nuts

I think pussy willows mean that it’s officially spring now. Who feels the same way as I do?

I changed my backdrop! Do you like it better? I do, and hopefully I’ll be using it from now on.

Also…new tea!! I was going to post a photo of my tea haul, but just never got around to it. You know what that’s like :/

I paired a new apple cake with one of the new teas that I got. I like the way this cake turned out. I usually find apples in cake to be mushy and gross, but I think if they’re shredded finely, it’s quite alright.

Ladies and gentlemen, may I present the Warm Spiced Apple Cake from my kitchen and Forever Nuts from Davids Teas.

The recipe for this cake is below. Some of my readers had requested the recipe for the Blood Orange cake that I posted a while ago, and I decided that I’d better post recipes with cakes or not post them at all! This cake is comforting and fruity. There is some cinnamon in it, but it’s not too fall-flavoured, so feel free to make it any time of the year.

Forever Nuts is probably the best tea that David’s Teas has come up with yet! I’m so happy I finally decided to try it (nuts in tea? seriously?!) and am pleased to report that it exceeded my expectations. It’s warm, fragrant, nutty, slightly spicy, and has a hint of sweetness. When you brew this tea, it turns a lovely pink, thanks to the beets in it. I know it sounds weird, but trust me, this is one tea that everyone should try! (As long as you don’t have allergies. Please don’t drink it if you’re allergic to nuts or something.)

I made the cakes in 3 4-inch springform pans and one 6-inch pan, but this recipe is large enough to make an 8-inch cake. Or you could make muffins instead!

Mini Grated Apple Cakes

·         3 cups unbleached white flour

·         1 Tbsp baking powder

·         1 tsp baking soda

·         Generous sprinkle of sea salt

·         ½ tsp cinnamon

·         1 tsp cardamom

·         ¼ cup light olive oil

·         2 cups packed brown sugar

·         2 ½ cups water or non-dairy milk

·         1 cup grated apple (I used Red Delicious, but I’m sure any kind would be fine 🙂 )

 

1.       Preheat oven to 350o F. Line 3 4 inch cake pans and one 6 inch cake pan with parchment paper.

2.       In a large bowl, combine dry ingredients.

3.       In a large glass measuring cup, combine wet ingredients and stir into dry ingredients. Carefully stir in grated apple.

4.       Divide batter among baking dishes. Bake for 25 min or until a cake tester inserted in the middle of the cake comes out clean.

5.       Serve with warm caramel sauce and a cup of tea. Enjoy!

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Hannah says:

    What a sweet back drop, cake and tea! 🙂 I really like the pussy willows, yes I think spring is on its way!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. me&tea says:

      Thanks Hannah! I felt like the pussy willows really brought spring indoors 🙂 Enjoy the beautiful weather!

      Like

Share your thoughts

