Vegan Chocolate Cake with Tahini Buttercream + Tea Pairing

img_5028

Today I’d like to share one of my favourite cake recipes with you- Vegan Chocolate Cake with Tahini Frosting – and a new tea, Coco Chai Rooibos from David’s Tea.

Has it ever been cold over here! I live in an area where we usually get a lot of snow during winters, but this year has been different. There’s not much snow on the ground, and it’s been quite warm for January, but this week has brought a rouge cold snap. When it’s chilly out, I like to stay inside by the fire, drink tea, and make cake! One of the benefits of living where it’s cold for 6 months of the year is that there’s plenty of time to do cozy things indoors like tea sampling and baking ( provided that you live in a warm house, which, thankfully, I do 🙂 ).

This chocolate cake is rich, decadent, and vegan (meaning there are no eggs or dairy in it), so you don’t need to feel bad about indulging in a slice or two with your afternoon cuppa tea. It took a while to get the measurements right, but after I tweaked it a little bit and added a spiced vegan tahini frosting, it has become my new favourite cake, and I serve it at almost every dinner or party that I host!

I’ve decided to try a new tea that I got a while ago- Coco Chai Rooibos- to see if it would go well with the cake. As soon as I took the first sip, I knew that it was going to become another favourite tea. It’s warm, spicy, woodsy, slightly nutty thanks to the addition of coconut shavings, and has a hint of sweetness. It pairs really nicely with the subtle flavours in this chocolatey cake.

Make the chocolate cake:

1 1/2 cups cocoa powder*

3 cups unbleached white flour

2 cups brown sugar

1 Tablespoon baking soda

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 1/2 teaspoons fine sea salt

3 cups dairy free milk (almond, soy, rice, or nut milk works well. I usually use water, but milk will make it a little richer)

6 tablespoons olive or grapeseed oil

2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

  1. In a large mixing bowl, combine all dry ingredients. I find that it helps to sift the cocoa powder to remove lumps.
  2. Combine wet ingredients in a large glass measuring cup or small bowl. Pour into dry mix and stir until combined.
  3. Divide batter between two round cake pans and bake at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for about 30 min.
  4. Remove cakes from pans when cool to the touch.

 

Frost the cake with the tahini frosting:

1 1/2 cups vegan butter, softened

1-1/2 cups powdered or confectioners sugar

1 Tablespoon tahini**

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon ground cardamom

splash pure vanilla extract

  1. Combine the vegan butter, spices, and vanilla in a mixing bowl. I used my Anchor glass 4-cup measuring cup, but any small bowl will work.
  2. With an electric mixer, beat on low until just combined. Slowly add in the confectioners sugar and tahini.
  3. Beat for about a minute on low or medium until soft and fluffy.
  4. Frost cake as desired. Icing can be kept at room temperature for one day or in the fridge for about a week.

Note: I used softened extra-virgin unrefined coconut oil for this frosting, but coconut oil is very finicky to work with and vegan butter will work much better. However, if you don’t have or don’t use vegan butter, coconut oil will work- just make sure that it’s softened to room temperature (you should be able to mash it with a fork) and keep it at room temperature until you need to use it. If it starts to melt, stick it in the fridge for half an hour or so to cool it off.

* I used carob powder for this recipe as I don’t eat cocoa. But if you’re not familiar with or don’t have carob, cocoa powder should work just fine.

** Make sure that the tahini is soft and slightly runny. Thick tahini won’t work as well for this recipe.

Thank you for reading 🙂  Feel free to leave comments or follow along on Instagram and Twitter for more happy tea and cake related things. I’ll see you next week with a post on my vintage teacup collection!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Hannah says:

    Oh this looks yummy! 🙂 I’ll have to try making it someday!

    Like

Share your thoughts

